About the University

Delhi Pharmaceutical Sciences and Research University (DPSRU), is the first Pharmacy University of India, established by an Act 7 of 2008 of State Legislature of Delhi as a State University vide Notification No. F. 2(412)/2008/SB/Vol. II/71 dated 21.01.2010 and is empowered to award degrees as specified by the UGC under section 22 of the UGC Act 1956 through its own departments and constituent colleges in regular mode vide notification No. F.9-19/2015/(CPP-I/PU) dated 22nd September 2015. Delhi Government legislation on 17th October, 2008 (Delhi Act 07 of 2008) and made functional from by notification on 24th July, 2015. The University is situated in the University campus besides the old block. The University is recognised by UGC under section 2f. NBA has accredited D.Pharm. B.Pharm. and M.Pharm. (Pharmacology) at DIPSAR, the constituent college of the University. Various courses of our university are approved by statutory bodies like Pharmacy Council of India (PCI); All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) and Delhi Council for Physiotherapy and Occupational Therapy (DCPOT).

Profession of pharmacy and pharmaceutical sciences has been one of the most dynamic fields in the healthcare system that has undergone several paradigm shifts in last century. In the ancient times when traditional and herbal medicines were practiced, the role of pharmacist was restricted to preparation and dispensing of drugs. With acceptance of more chemistry based modern medicines by physicians, there was a shift of the profession to ‘product oriented pharmaceutical sciences’. This resulted into increased drug dependence and drug information leading to a need of re-orientation of pharmacy from a product orientation to a patient-centred system by which pharmacists started to assume new responsibility as clinical pharmacist. The traditional pharmacy education changed from production oriented knowledge development to clinical and hospital based training institutions or colleges of pharmacy. Worldwide the traditional pharmaceutical science based institutions started with a direct link to hospitals and community. Innovations with respect to spectroscopy, chromatography and imaging technologies opened several new products to health care systems like medical devices and the success of human genome gave rise to now era of precision medicine. Fuelled with advances in genomic technologies, and personalized medicine, the profession of pharmacy cannot remain in a single capsule of mere pharmacy institution but requires expansion to the level of university wherein, various disciplines can come together to keep pace with the development and provide effective means of health care need to the world.

It is heartening to note that DPSRU has been one of the few centres of learning in India that has kept a pace to the developments. It started with College of Pharmacy in under the Department of Delhi Training and Technology Education, Government of Delhi, introduced B. Pharm. Course in 1972, M. Pharm. In 1979 and became College of Pharmacy and moved from small Polytechnic at Kashmiri Gate to bigger campus Pushp Vihar.  In parallel with developments of clinical pharmacy in India and also the pharmaceutical Sciences, it got upgraded to Delhi Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Research (DIPSAR) and with pace of horizons of pharmaceutical sciences, now enacted as the University, the first university of Pharmacy in India. The emergence of our DPSRU is similar to the China Pharmaceutical University Nanjing, China, perhaps the first and only university in the world established in 1986, on the basis of the former Nanjing College of Pharmacy of 1936, dedicated and devoted to public health adopting the strategy of “Beyond Pharmacy, Around Pharmacy and For Pharmacy.

The University has currently following units:

  1. Delhi Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences (DIPSAR)
  2. School of Pharmaceutical Sciences
  3. School of Allied Health sciences with centre of Physiotherapy
  4. Academy of Sports Sciences Research and Management
  5. DPSRU Innovation & Incubation Foundation (DIIF)       

The university now runs D. Pharm. B. Pharm. M. Pharm. (Cosmeceutics, Drug Regulatory Affairs, Pharmaceutical Analysis, Industrial Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Biotechnology, Pharmacognosy, Quality Assurance, Hospital Pharmacy, Pharmacology, Pharmaceutics, Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Clinical Pharmacy); MBA (Pharmaceutical Management); MPH (Master of Public Health); MHM (Master of Hospital Management); B.Sc (Sports Science) with pharmacy focus and certificate courses in Yoga. From 2018-19, several new courses have been planned including post-graduate courses in sports sciences and genemic based drug delivery.

To have effective monitoring, the first statues of the university have been Gazetted for effective administration and soon there will be Ordinances. The University holds regular meeting of General Council, Academic Council, Board of Governors and Finance Committee.  The University has developed a reasonably good infrastructure in the form of classrooms, labs, library, playgrounds, guest house, faculty house, hostels etc to provide quality education to students. The university is having around 1300 students and around 150 staff members. It has being developed as State-of-the-art, well equipped Centre of Excellence and is producing top class pharmaceutical scientists, pharmacists, health professionals thereby significantly contributing towards the development of World and India in particular. Upgradation is a continuous process in the University.

Last but not the least DPSRU and DIPSAR regularly organize promotional curricular activities like National and International level conferences, Quality Improvement Programs, Workshops, Seminars, Symposia and guest lectures in addition to extracurricular activities like Annual Day, Sports Day, Physiotherapy Day, National Pharmacy Day and other festivals and occasions at community level.